Upcoming Webinars

UXPA International webinars are online events covering a range of UX and research topics delivered by some of the industry’s leading professionals. For the best experience, join our live webinars to interact with presenters and ask questions in real-time.

Can’t make a live event? No worries, catch up any time by visiting our webinar library, there you can access all of our free, recorded webinars.

Designing a Voice User Interface (VUI)

Voice user interface is the new modality that is becoming very popular since the launch of voice assistants like Alexa, Google, and Siri. How does one get into this field and what things to keep in mind when designing for voice? In this talk, I will talk about all the dos and don’ts of VUIs. Date: August 19, 2022 Time: 10 AM PDT / 12 PM CDT / 1 PM EDT Register for the Webinar

Meet the Presenter

Shyamala Prayaga: Senior Software Project Manager, Conversational AI – Deep Learning, NVIDIA
Shyamala Prayaga (Photo) Shyamala is a seasoned conversational AI expert. Having led initiatives across connected home, automotive, wearables – just to name a few, she’s put her work on research into usability, accessibility, speech recognition, multimodal voice user interfaces, and has even been published internationally across publications like Forbes. Outside of her research, she’s spent the last 18 years designing mobile, web, desktop, and smart TV interfaces and has most recently joined NVIDIA to own their roadmap for Speech AI tools.
Register for the Webinar

How to Work With Cross-Functional Leaders That Just Don’t Get UX

Ling will speak about the common challenges we face as a UX practitioner at work.

Date: September 16, 2022

Time: 3 PM PDT / 5 PM CDT / 6 PM EDT

Register for the Webinar

Meet the Presenter

Ling Lee: Sr. Principal Designer, Dell Technologies
 
Ling Lee (Photo)Ling Lee currently is a Sr. Principal Designer at Dell Technologies and her extensive Design experience spans over 30 years. Multimedia, graphic design, IA, research and leadership to name a few are part of her impressive portfolio. Ling finds joy in leading clients and project teams from ambiguity to clarity, attacking unsolved problems that lead to technological innovations. For more details, visit Ling’s LinkedIn profile.
Register for the Webinar

Demystifying the Front-End of Design Thinking

The first phase of the design thinking process is the most crucial, as this is when human insights are leveraged to define customer value. Yet, this so-called “empathize” phase is often unsuccessfully executed. During this session, Marty Gage and Spencer Murrell will address the crucial first step of the design thinking process and how to get it right. Using six key principles, Gage and Murrell will demonstrate how to connect users’ desired emotional states to an actionable articulation of an experience.

Date: September 21, 2022

Time: 9 AM PDT / 11 AM CDT / 12 PM EDT

Register for the Webinar

Meet the Presenters

Marty Gage & Spencer Murrell
  

Marty Gage (Photo)

Spencer Murrell (Photo)

Marty Gage, a Human Factors Psychologist, and Spencer Murrell, an Industrial Designer, have worked side by side for the last 33 years in the front end of design. Their new book “User Experience Research: Discover What Customers Really Want” is the culmination of their years of experimentation and marketplace validation to develop a foolproof process for a more predictable pathway to design experiences.

UX Research Lextant Book (Photo)

K-12 Education for UX

Join three UX professionals as they share experience and insights from a project that is seeking to bring UX education to K-12 students. The need for reliable K-12 UX-related resources and materials appears to be great, as many pipeline-related UX challenges need to be addressed. We will provide a list of takeaways–selected books, websites, ready-to-use materials, and other resources that teachers can use to get started with teaching UX right away. We will outline current initiatives within UXPA to partner with others to create a series of UX-related lesson plans and units for middle schoolers. We’ll update you on the status of the creation of a repository of K-12 -facing resources. Related efforts to get user experience job titles into the US Dictionary of Occupational Titles and SIC and their Canadian counterparts have been initiated and will be discussed. Finally, a revised five-year plan, including additional research, development, and on-going collaboration options will be presented.

Date: September 30, 2022

Time: 2 PM PDT / 4 PM CDT / 5 PM EDT

Register for the Webinar

Meet the Presenters

Lubina Bogoeva, Josephine Giaimo, and Keith Instone 
 
Lubina Bogoeva (Photo)Lubina Bogoeva is currently a Sr. UX Designer at Fiserv, the original fintech company. She has over 10 years experience in the field, working for Bank of American and Thermo Fisher, as well as non-profits and design studios. She recently took on a new challenge as an advisor for the UXD Masters Externship program at Rutgers University. Lubina lives in Central New Jersey where she enjoys yoga, VR gaming, and photographing the wildlife visiting her garden. She is a Co-organizer of the UXPA NJ chapter.
Josephine Giaimo (Photo)


Josephine Giaimo
is a leader with a vision for transforming the user experience conversation, step by step. She has led UX research efforts for Google, ADP, AT&T, Avaya, Medidata, and others in fintech, telecom, IT, energy, construction, and healthcare IT industries. She has several decades of experience working as a UX researcher, consultant, and “K through grey” instructor in a variety of consulting roles, always with a user-centered focus that increases productivity and supports business goals. She is currently working on a book focused on UX outcomes, metrics, and management control systems. A Jersey girl, she holds degrees in psychology and engineering earned at the Garden State’s most prestigious public universities. She says that “anyone can design a job that nobody can do,” and brings her sense of humor and her strategic insights to every conversation. she is a Co-organizer of the UXPA NJ chapter.

Keith Instone (Photo)Keith Instone is a Digital Experience Research Analyst for Stratascale, an SHI company. He has 25+ years experience as a user experience practitioner, academic researcher, and occasional instructor. He has also been involved in bridging the industry-academia gap in UX. He helped develop the Enterprise Architecture program at Michigan State University. After getting a master’s degree in computer science, his UX career journey has meant studying psychology, library science, visual literacy, graphic & industrial design, and more.

Fabulous Forms: Overcoming Common Accessibility Pitfalls

Join AudioEye accessibility subject matter experts, Alisa Smith and Sarah Kinneer, as they deep dive on the subject of creating forms that check all the boxes: accessible, usable, and satisfying.

Date: October 11, 2022

Time: 1 PM PDT / 3 PM CDT / 4 PM EDT

Register for the Webinar

Meet the Presenters

Alisa Smith and Sarah Kinneer 
 
Alisa Smith (Photo) Alisa Smith grew up in rural Connecticut around farms, with huge gardens, sheep, cows, and horses, and studied graphic design, print, and photography. Today, she brings more than 20 years of experience in technology and community engagement to make the web accessible to as many people as possible as the Accessibility Evangelist at AudioEye. Alisa lives near Atlanta with her family, where she loves to craft and garden.
Sarah Kinneer (Photo) From her formative years interning in Congress through the American Association of People with Disabilities (AAPD) and taking college courses in Disability Policy and Leadership, to her 14 years spent teaching children with disabilities, to her current work as a Solutions Engineer at AudioEye, Sarah Kinneer, has embraced her neurodivergence as she has worked to educate others and promote the full inclusion and acceptance of all people with disabilities in society. A Michigan native, she has spent the last 15 years in Georgia learning to accept that she may never say the word “cat” again without someone asking where she’s from and doing odd things like jumping out of perfectly good airplanes.
Item added to cart.
0 items - $0.00